

## **Nominations for SaskFlax Director Elections Now Open**

**August 14, 2018** – The Saskatchewan Flax Development Commission (SaskFlax) reminds flax producers that nominations for the 2018 Director Elections are now open. Nominations will be accepted until Friday, September 14 at 12:00 PM (noon). Nomination form is available at www.saskflax.com.

The elections will aim to fill three vacant positions on the SaskFlax Board. Two of our current Directors, Dave Sefton and Erwin Hanley, will have both completed their maximum number of terms as of the end of this year. Another current Director, Jordon Hillier, is an incumbent.

If elections proceed, information about candidates and voting procedures will be made public in October 2018. Producers will also be mailed voting instructions and documents in October 2018 and the election period will run from October 19-November 30, 2018.

If elections proceed, voters will again have the option to vote online or by paper ballot.

Registered producers (any producer who has sold flax in either of the 2016/17 or 2017/18 crop years and has not requested a levy refund for the sales in the 2017/18 crop year) will receive an election package in the mail, containing instructions on how to vote by their preferred option.

If elections proceed, the results of the election will be announced mid-December and at SaskFlax's Annual General Meeting on January 14, 2019, held in conjunction with the CropSphere conference.

For more information about 2018 elections, please contact:

Wayne Thompson, Executive Director wayne@saskflax.com
306-664-1901

\*A registered producer is any producer who has sold flax in either of the 2016/17 or 2017/18 crop years and has not requested a levy refund for the sales in 2017/18.

SaskFlax is a producer led organization, established in 1996 to represent levy-paying Saskatchewan flax producers. SaskFlax invests flax producer funds into research and market development to promote production and uses of flax.